Heat Speak is an indie folk group led by singer-songwriter Dario Ré. His impassioned poetics sung in English and French are supported by dynamic musicianship and intricate arrangements to create a unique blend of indie folk, chamber pop and world fusion. 

The founding collaborations with violinist Phil Pintor began in 2014 in Spokane, Washington. They began collecting musicians to record what became the 2017 record, Aspen Artichoke released independently under the eponymous band name Dario Ré. Following its release, a rotating cast of musicians banded around Ré and Pintor to perform throughout the Pacific Northwest many of whom formally united as Heat Speak in 2018. 

Their debut album, To Love Wind was released independently September 2020 followed by Holy Moon in 2022 which they toured extensively through the Pacific Northwest following its release.

Heat Speak features acoustic guitars, keys, upright bass, violin, mandolin, cello, mandocello, djembe, congas, and drum kit. 

Rootsy would be reductive but not entirely false, for embedded into Heat Speak's brand of indie-folk are flavors of busking Americana and Canadian coffee houses.”

— Behind the Setlist

Press Photos

Listening to Heat Speak, it's obvious that the sparse arrangements have been painstakingly, carefully considered [...] you get the sense that one of Ré's musical tenets is that less is often so much more.”

— The Inlander